Coralee's Web Page

Great Pyrenees (long coat)  : :  Female  : :  Senior  : :  Large

More Pics...

Interested in sponsoring?

Sponsor This Pet

Learn more about the Great Pyrenees.

My Rescue
Login to Remember your Favorite Animals and Breeds!

About Coralee

  • Status: Available for Sponsorship
  • Species: Dog
  • General Color: White
  • Color: White
  • Current Size: 85 Pounds
  • Potential Size: 85 Pounds
  • Current Age: 9 Years 6 Months (best estimate)
  • Fence Required: Yes(6 foot)
  • Declawed: No
  • Housetrained: Yes
  • Obedience Training Needed: Needs Training
  • Exercise Needs: Low
  • Grooming Needs: Moderate
  • Shedding Amount: Moderate
  • Owner Experience Needed: Breed
  • Reaction to New People: Friendly

Coralee is in a permanent senior foster home and is available for sponsorship!  Read about her story here:  Hi there! My name is Coralee. I’m a sweet senior lady about 7-8 years young. If you see me, you’d think I was a cloud because my hair is so fluffy and I’m swift on my feet. Until early 2021, I lived in what humans call a hoarding situation. We were penned outside in south Texas – forgotten and unwanted. We dug out ditches to fend from the harsh weather. I thought I was doomed to a life in the dust. Life was so tough, and I was not getting any younger. If animal control found me, shelters would deny me because of my age and shy temperament. I didn’t know if there was another option. But one day, GPPR found us! I was in poor health and scared of the unknown, but a foster took me in and saved me from dying in a shelter or laying forgotten in a field. Instead, I was loved and cared for physically and emotionally. For the first time in my life I could be happy, trust, and socialize.

Chatter around the rescue suggested cooler climate in the Pacific Northwest. As a senior having lived my life outdoors in the southern United States, I longed for retirement in an area with lower temperatures and more rain. I was also growing curious about ‘indoor dog life’. With GPPR’s help, I grew ready for long-term placement which can be hard to find for a senior. Fatefully in June 2022, a loving couple in Oregon said ‘Yes’ and welcomed me into their home as a forever foster in the GPPR Homer Senior Housing Program. On June 25th I arrived to find the greatest warmth and patience with my forever family. They prepared for me, ready with fluffy beds and a pillow reading “Reserved for the dog”.

After rescue from hoarding, I’m learning about everything for the first time, as a senior. As I grow familiar, I’m learning to smell the flowers.  I don't ask for much at all, just the basics. Yet, I’m learning to indulge in the comfort of air conditioning and long naps. I like to be in the family room and get to go outside in the garden as many times as I want every day. I like to be tidy, so I’m quickly catching on to housebreaking routines. I’m independent and non-intrusive so I do well on my own indoors and outdoors. I greet my family when they return home from errands and I get to check out what they brought home - it might be for me! I sleep deeply through the night, snoring and dreaming, here on my plush dog bed at the foot of their bed. Every day I like to walk the perimeter of the back yard, looking up at the trees and sniffing the air as neighbors grill. I buddies with my next door neighbor doggo named Wrex. I wagged my tail as soon as I met him. I’m sure to be patient and gentle with others, which helped when I met my cat siblings, too. I’m ever so grateful for being able to retire in the PNW.   

At 8 years of age, I’m aware that I need special care and that comes at some expense to the rescue organization. They saved me from that horrible place and helped me find a forever home in the senior program – but they need help from the community to maintain my care. Food, flea/tick preventative, dental, joint supplements, antibiotics, and similar things add up. No one can predict the future, but some cost of care is anticipated.  Please join GPPR in welcoming me into the sponsor program by becoming a monthly sponsor for my continued care. Your monthly gift ensures funding is always available for me to get the medical care and support I need to to be as happy and healthy as possible. Thanks for hearing my story and considering sponsorship! Please reach out to learn more about me or how to help.

All our dogs require secure VISIBLE fencing. All current pets in adoptive home must be spayed/neutered and up to date on vaccinations. 

Adoption Fee: n/a

All of our dogs are spayed/neutered, microchipped and up to date on vaccinations.

Transport Fee: n/a

Transport fee includes the cost of transport plus the Health Certificate required for USDA approved transport.

Adoption applications can be found on our website:  

Northwest adopter pays cost of transport to independent transport company.  Transport is arranged by GPPR.

More about Coralee

Good with Dogs, Good with Cats, Good with Older/Considerate Kids Only, Good with Adults, Somewhat vocal, Requires a yard, Leashtrained, Timid, Eager To Please, Intelligent, Even-tempered

Other Pictures of Coralee (click to see larger version):

Coralee Coralee Coralee Coralee
Coralee Coralee